press enter to skip content

Welcome to The Higgins

You are here:

Home / What's On / Guided Walks

Guided Walks

Walks with the Bedford Association of Tour Guides

 

Enjoy a series of walks with the Bedford Association of Tour Guides from June to October 2022. 

 

  • Places are limited and must be booked in advance.
  • Book online or call the Box Office on 01234 718044
  • Please use the code HIGGINS30 to remove the transaction fee.
  • Bookings for walks on Wednesdays will close at 4pm the day before
  • Bookings for walks on Sundays will close at 4pm the day before

 

gold letterbox

 

All walks will leave from the Gold Letter Box on St Paul’s Square, Bedford MK40 1SL, not The Higgins Bedford.

 

If you would like to know more about the walks, please email info@bedfordtourguides.org

 

If you have any ticket enquiries, please call the Box Office on 01234 718044

 

Walks last around 90 minutes. Each walk covers 1-2 miles and most are suitable for those less mobile. Children are welcome on the these walks but they must be accompanied by an adult. 

 

Programme:

 

i never knew that tour

 

I Never Knew That

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person, £1.50 for children over 8

 

The most commonly heard phrase after the completion of a Guided Walk. This Walk encompasses all that information about Bedford and its many features that YOU never knew!

 

Wednesday 6 July

Sunday 11 September

Wednesday 5 October

 

The Jewel in Bedford's Crown

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person, £1.50 for children over 8

 

The Jewel in Bedford's Crown is undoubtedly the River Great Ouse and its Embankment. Find out how the construction of this part of the town came about and hear about the many important features which stand on either side of the river and which can easily be overlooked.

 

Sunday 10 July

Sunday 14 August

Wednesday 28 September

Sunday 23 October

 

The Rise and Fall of Bedford Castle

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person, £1.50 for children over 8

 

The Normans were swift on their arrival in this country to build a castle of great size in Bedford. Discover the castle's story and why it was demolished.

 

Sunday 21 August

Sunday 25 September

Wednesday 19 October

 

Bedford in World War II

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person£1.50 for children over 8

 

A popular walk revealing the secrets and mysteries of life in Bedford during World War II. What famous people were here and why? What was meant by the BBC during the War when announcing a programme from "Somewhere In England"? And why has Bedford been called “the Spy Capital of the World”?

 

Wednesday 27 July

Sunday 9 October

 

Places & Faces of Bedford

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person£1.50 for children over 8

 

Bedford has many impressive properties, often built as homes for the professional and the wealthy. Many survive though few are still family homes. Join us to find out who lived where and why these Bedfordians were important to the town.

 

Wednesday 29 June

Sunday 31 July

Wednesday 31 August

Sunday 2 October

 

silent faces tour

 

The Silent Faces of Bedford

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person£1.50 for children over 8

 

Bedford has many impressive statues and memorials. They cannot tell their own story – but we can and do!

 

Sunday 3 July

Sunday 7 August

Sunday 4 September

Sunday 16 October

 

The Life and Times of John Bunyan

11am - 12:30pm

£3 per person£1.50 for children over 8

 

Bedford's most famous son. Born in Elstow parish but spent much of his life in Bedford and, in particular, in Bedford gaol. Visit the site of the cottage in which John and his family lived, the churches in which he worshipped and the site of the gaol in which he spent 12 long years and wrote The Pilgrim’s Progress.

 

Sunday 17 July

Wednesday 7 September

Sunday 18 October